Public speaking reflection

Hi guys! Today I am going to tell you about my public speaking.

First I am going to tell you what my speech is about. My speech was about why crab trapping should be stopped. In my speech, my three main points were animals that have been affected by crab traps, the number of declining crabs, and Winter the dolphin’s story. I also added a paragraph about what traps are.

The part about public speaking I found most challenging was speaking. I found speaking very hard because for me it is very scary to speak in front of people. I also found it scary because everybody was looking at me. When I found out I got into the finals, I was very happy but I also got more scared because I would have to talk in front of grades not just one class with eleven people. When I arrived at the gym, I found out I was going first. I was so nervous and my heart was beating as fast as the wings of a bee. When I got called up to stand in front of the gym, I started to shake a lot because I was so nervous. Then again, everybody was looking at me and that just made me even more nervous. In a few seconds, I started, and even though I was so nervous and scared I did my speech in front of the crowd. Then I was done the scariest part, it was over.

The part I found the easiest was writing my speech. I found writing my speech the easiest because I enjoy writing. I also found writing my speech the easiest part because I was writing something I like, not a boring topic. Although it was a little bit hard to think of my third point. Overall, I think writing was the easiest part of my public speaking because I enjoyed it, and it did not involve doing something in front of a crowd.

Next time for public speaking I would speak a little bit louder, try not to get as nervous, look up at the audience more, and have more hand gestures.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *